I love coconut. I love making yoghurt, milk and butter from the meat and drinking the water and making Coconut water Kefir. The recipes couldn’t be simpler.

 

Coconut Milk;

I use Young Thai coconuts, they are my favourite taste. Other older meat may need straining and there are several methods of making coconut milk from dried coconut too. In the tropics we have these in abundance in the supermarkets and after using the water and meat they are a bargain. Now I just need some ideas on how to use the husks- I hate waste and live on the 27th floor!

1 1/2 Cups of Coconut water (about the contents of 1 coconut)

1 1/2 Cups of filtered Water

1 cup of coconut meat (normally 2-3 coconuts worth)

I throw all mine in my blender and blend until thick and creamy. No need to strain! This will keep in the fridge for at least a week but it is normally used up way before then!

I have also made Coconut milk Kefir from this also. Just add the milk grains and leave with a muslin cover for 12-24 hours- to taste!

