20121001-162915.jpg

We have a protein shake every morning with our breakfast. I use a pumpkin seed protein mostly because its unflavoured and I don’t want to use a whey protein. I used to use a mixed non whey protein called Total Protein (for those in the uk get it from http://www.myprotein.com) but sadly they don’t deliver to Hk.

I give it to our almost 3 year old and have done since she was about 18 months. She would have porridge and it was not keeping her full up till lunch. I was adding ground almonds and berries but she would be looking for food an hour after. Since I was already having a smoothie myself I started giving her some. She’s had one every morning since! Breakfast= smoothie then muesli then apple!

I love pumpkin. I love it in soup, pie, roasted, chipped and puréed. I found organic canned pumpkin and since I don’t want to make a whole pie as I will then eat a whole pie- I have been looking to recreate the flavour. This is a twist on our regular morning smoothie and me and my daughter think its delicious. The hubby is going along with it but he has issues with using vegies in sweet mode (he eats my beet root brownies alright though!!)

1/2 carton of oat milk
1/3 can of organic pumpkin
1 banana (I keep mine in the fridge- but a frozen one would be nice too)
1 tbs peanut butter (or other nut butters- optional)
2 scoops protein powder (30g protein)
Tsp cinnamon, nutmeg, ground ginger (to taste so add more or less)
Vanilla (essence, pod or paste)
1 tsp maple sugar (coconut nectar, maple syrup- optional)
1 tbs coconut oil

Whizzzzz up. This serves 3 glasses.

Delicious- I also love sequins!!

